Skip to content

Chilled Cantaloupe Soup

August 11, 2011

Cantaloupe Soup

The melon on my kitchen counter got away from me during the recent heat wave. One minute it was hard and under-ripe, and the next time I turned around its summery aroma was filling the kitchen, signaling ripeness. I cut it open, savoring the idea of juicy melon, still with a little crispness to it, for breakfast. But alas, although the flavor was great, the texture was just too mushy. Not what I wanted for breakfast. I cut the rest of it up, and put it in the fridge.

After dinner that night, it occurred to me that my mushy melon would make a great cold dessert soup. With just a little experimentation, here’s what I ended up with for a recipe:

1 1/2 cups diced cantaloupe

2 TBS orange juice concentrate

1/4 cup dry white wine

2 ice cubes

juice of 1/2 lime

Blend everything in a blender until the ice is gone. Serve immediately, garnished with mint leaves and berries. It’s just the right amount for two people.

You can also make this ahead, stick it in the fridge, then blend it again briefly just before serving, to restore the lovely froth.

— Cindy

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 1:55 am

    Wow! That’s an out of the ordinary slant.

Leave a Reply

