Skip to content

Surprise – A Strawberry Salad!

February 23, 2012

Last weekend, I was lucky enough to find a box of ripe and surprisingly delicious strawberries in the produce department of my local supermarket.  I scooped them up, not really having a plan for how I would enjoy these juicy red beauties.

It wasn’t until I started packing my lunch for work on Monday night when, inspired by the “Salad Sisters”, I decided they’d make a perfect addition to a salad.  Grabbing greens, a packet of almonds and a container of leftover wheatberries from the night before, I was ready to assemble – and later enjoy – a very tasty salad.

To make my salad on Tuesday, I dropped two big handfuls of mixed baby lettuce and spinach greens into a bowl.  Onto the bed of greens, I dropped a hefty spoonful of cooked leftover wheatberries and 4 or 5 of my strawberries.  Instead of the usual blended dressing, I simply drizzled a little balsamic vinegar and olive oil, and ground a bit of black pepper and salt. Topping the whole thing off, I sprinkled a small handful of roasted slivered almonds over the top.  Sheer salad perfection!

–Karen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 4:23 pm

    This is a great recipe. We, at http://www.mediterraneandietforall.com/ have also started posting some interesting ideas and recipes in an effort to promote the Mediterranean diet.
    Let us join forces

    BR/
    Andreas Chrysos

    • March 22, 2012 7:48 am

      Thanks Andreas, it is great to know we are all here to promote the healthy and delicious benefits of the Mediterranean Diet.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe Recap: Bring on the Green! « The Culinary Guild of New England

Leave a Reply

