Skip to content

A Cookbook Will do the Trick!

March 27, 2012

My gift ‘getting’ motto: When in doubt, buy me a cookbook.  My latest and greatest being Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch by Nigel Slater, and it is lovely.  Twenty nine chapters, each dedicated to a different vegetable, and although it is not a vegetarian cookbook I love that it is the vegetable that inspires each dish.

Typically, recipes I choose for the blog must be suitable for the time constraints of a weeknight meal.  No one wants to feel overwhelmed walking in the door after work, so I look for recipes that I can personally make for myself and my husband and find to be weeknight-doable.  When I happened upon this recipe in Tender I knew it would do the trick.  Peppers filled with tiny tomatoes, roasted to perfection, and finished with a fresh basil sauce: does that not scream spring?!?  Simple preparation, fresh ingredients and packed with flavor.

*Notes: As usual, I made a few adjustments.  I bought a variety of peppers and tomatoes.  For the basil sauce I added in some fresh parsley as well as a few garlic cloves.  We served the peppers over a bed of baby spinach and after a few bites decided to add a bit of fresh Parmesan on top.

Adapted From Tender by Nigel Slater

Ingredients:

Nonstick spray
4 large peppers (I used 2 orange and 2 red)
16 tiny tomatoes, such as grape or cherry tomatoes  (I actually used close to 2 pints, 1 pint of red grape tomatoes and 1 pint yellow grape tomatoes which is approx. 10-15 halves per half pepper)
Olive oil for drizzling

For the basil sauce:
1/3 cup olive oil
Fresh basil to taste (I used about 2-3 cups of basil as I wanted a thicker sauce with more basil punch)
3 garlic cloves
Handful of fresh parsley (about a half cup)
Salt

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Spray a large roasting pan with nonstick spray.  Slice the peppers in half lengthwise and remove the seeds and white membranes but leave the stems intact.  Place peppers in the pan cut side up.

Halve the tomatoes and divide between the peppers.  Drizzle a bit of olive oil over each half.

Roast the peppers for about an hour, until the peppers are soft and the tomatoes are collapsing.

In a food processor combine the basil, oil, garlic, parsley and puree.  Sprinkle a bit of salt in the sauce (to taste).

Drizzle the basil sauce over the peppers once you take them out of the oven so it mingles with the warm peppers and tomatoes.  Serve over a bed of greens.  Enjoy!

–Rachel

One Comment leave one →
  1. mnm permalink
    March 27, 2012 12:37 pm

    “Peppers filled with tiny tomatoes, roasted to perfection, and finished with a fresh basil sauce: does that not scream spring?!? ”

    Well…in the Northeast, peppers, tomatoes and basil scream “late summer,” so this is a recipe I’d use in August, more likely. Looks really delicious though.

Leave a Reply

